Three Theories for Planned Change

Reply 1


Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Three Theories for Planned Change
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay

Research one of the three theories (presented in Chapter 18) for planned change and how that process could be applied to a real nursing change situation.

According to chapter 18, there are 3 theories developed when it came to planned change needed in the nursing field. One of the theories is called Six Phases of Planned Change that was developed back in 1973 by Ronald Havelock. Havelock argued that adapting Lewin’s change model to include knowledge building, which focused on a systematic integration of theories rather than disjointed approaches, would respond more effectively to real-life situations in managing change (Wagner, 2020). The six stages for this theory are as follows: (1) building a relationship, (2) diagnosing the problem, (3) acquiring relevant resources, (4) choosing the solution, (5) gaining acceptance, (6) stabilizing the innovation and generating self-renewal. This can be applied to a real nursing change situation because not only can it assist with any random problem-solving process needed, it exemplifies how a nursing assessment is somewhat conducted. For example, building a trusting therapeutic relationship with a patient is the first to gain their trust, then there’s the process of assessing and diagnosing the problem indicated. Therefore, implementing necessary interventions to resolve the problem and formulate a solution.


Wagner, J. (2020, August 13). 10.4: Planned Change. Retrieved from Medicine LibreTexts: