Stages of IoT Architecture

Step 1: sensors and actuators

The first layer is physically made up of sensors and actuators. Sensors collect data from an environment and transform it into usable data. For example, your smartphone contains sensors that detect Earth’s gravitational pull, allowing you to orient your screen according to its position.

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Stages of IoT Architecture
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay

Step 2: the Internet gateway layer

The data received from the sensors is in analog form and must be aggregated and converted into digital form. This happens in the second stage of the IoT architecture, called Internet Gateway Layer. Prepare the collected data for further processing.

Step 3: Edge IT

The third stage of the IoT architecture, known as the perimeter computing system, is where better analysis and preprocessing is carried out. Edge IT systems are also located near sensors and actuators, such as a wiring closet. It can also be located in remote offices.

Step 4: Data Center and Cloud

As mentioned in step 1, all data that requires further analysis without requiring immediate feedback is sent to cloud-based data centers. These data centers are capable of analyzing, managing and storing large amounts of data. It is also much safer to store it here.