Newspapers for Present History Essay

Newspapers for Present History Essay

This is not an exhaustive list – try to browse widely across the South Asian press and media in your areas, countries, regions and topics of interest.

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Newspapers for Present History Essay
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay

Some useful lists of links that include South Asian newspapers: http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/asian-newspapers.htmhttps://www.s-asian.cam.ac.uk/library/electronic-resources/,  These links provide an excellent starting-point for browsing newspapers. Also useful to get a sense of the media scene in various countries (major sources and publications, level of censorship, history, etc) are BBC Media Profiles

Afghanistan: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12013942

Bangladesh: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12650946

Bhutan: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12484025

India: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12557390

Maldives: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12653775

Myanmar: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-pacific-12991727

Nepal: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12561481

Pakistan: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12965785

Sri Lanka: https://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-12000330

Some of the major English language papers of the subcontinent are:

Daily Star (Bangladesh): https://www.thedailystar.net/newspaper

The Independent (Bangladesh): http://www.theindependentbd.com/online/bangladesh

Kuensel (Bhutan) [partially government-owned]: https://kuenselonline.com/

Haveeru (Maldives): https://edition.mv/

Global New Light of Myanmar (Myanmar/Burma) [government-owned]: https://www.moi.gov.mm/nlm/

Himalayan Times (Nepal): https://thehimalayantimes.com/

Kathmandu Post (Nepal): https://kathmandupost.com/

Dawn (Pakistan): https://www.dawn.com/

The Frontier Post (Pakistan): https://thefrontierpost.com/

The Nation (Pakistan): https://nation.com.pk/

Daily Mirror (Sri Lanka): http://www.dailymirror.lk/

The Island (Sri Lanka): https://island.lk/

Daily News (Sri Lanka) [government-owned]: http://www.dailynews.lk/

 

 

Note that some of these are government-owned media sources, and will obviously reflect official state positions and agendas.

India has a massive English language press. Here are three of the several key national English papers to get your started:
The Hindu: https://www.thehindu.com/

Times of India: https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/

Hindustan Times: https://www.hindustantimes.com/

 

Please do not limit yourselves to these few papers. Browse widely starting from the Berkeley link above and beyond. If you are able to read another South Asian language than English (Hindi, Urdu, Bengali, Panjabi, Burmese, Pashto, Dari, Nepali, Sinhala, Tamil, etc) we strongly encourage you to also read newspapers in that language. Many of the above newspapers include an ‘E-Paper’ option, which allows you to see the actual layout of the day’s paper, which may be useful to look at.

There are also a number of news magazines that offer longer-format stories.
Outlook (India): https://www.outlookindia.com/

India Today (India): https://www.indiatoday.in/

Tehelka (India): http://tehelka.com/

Frontline (India): https://frontline.thehindu.com/

The Caravan (India): https://caravanmagazine.in/

Newsline (Pakistan) (defunct): http://newslinemagazine.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *