Classifying Organisms

IV. _______________ is the science of identifying and classifying organisms according to certain rules. The taxa (classification categories from the broadest, most inclusive to the narrowest, most exclusive include: Domain, ____________, ______________, __________, ______________, _____________, ____________, species. There are three domains: ______________, ______________, and ___________________. Prokaryotes lack a true, membrane-bound ________________. Two domains consist of prokaryotic organisms: _____________ and _____________. So all bacteria are prokaryotic, the Archebacteria and the Eubacteria (“true” bacteria). Protists, fungi, ____________, and ___________ are all eukaryotic organisms.

V. Match each kingdom with its characteristics:

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Classifying Organisms
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay

1. Animalia (the animals) a. multicellular; ingest food

2. Plantae (the plants) b. include plant-like algae, animal-like

protozoa, and fungal-like slime molds and

water molds

3. Protista c. multicellular; photosynthetic

4. Fungi d. include the “true bacteria;” ubiquitous

5. Bacteria (Eubacteria) e. include “extremophiles” that live at high

temperatures; may be more similar to eukaryotes than they are to eubacteria

6. Archaea (Archebacteria) f. include molds, mushrooms, and yeast;

ecologically important as decomposers