Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN)

Advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) is a regulatory title and includes the four roles of certified nurse-midwives (CNMs), certified nurse practitioners (CNPs), certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), and clinical nurse specialists (CNSs). Each has a unique history, shared a focus on providing clinical care for healthcare consumers, and is characterized by specific educational preparation, professional competencies, and certification requirements.

Some school nurses may have the authority for advanced practice granted by their state licensing board, and meet the standards identified for APRNs because of their education, experience, license, and skill, and have the authority for advanced practice granted by their state licensing board. In schools, APRNs may practice as nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists or school nurses. APRNs are often part of an enhanced school services team, a school-based health center, or a wellness center that provides direct medical diagnostic and treatment care to students. An APRN working in a combined APRN/school nurse role is expected to comply with the standards of practice and professional performance and associated competencies for all school nurses, the competencies for graduate level prepared school nurses, and the additional competencies for an APRN as delineated by their state nurse practice act and the APRN Consensus Model. The APRN role in the school may be limited by job description or agency policy.

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN)
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay